What bakeware is safe? Here’s Our Verdict

Pillivuyt Classic Pleated Porcelain Ramekins, set of 6 (Classic Pleated, 1 to 5 oz sizes)

$$

Quick verdict

Verdict
Conditional

Plain white French porcelain ramekins; the maker states lead and cadmium are not detectable, a claim we could not check against a report.

Confirm the exact SKU, size and current construction details before relying on this pick. See version details.

Product identity on record: Classic Pleated, 1 to 5 oz sizes (no item number captured). Check the current product and version.

Caution
  • The lead and cadmium statement is a manufacturer claim without a linked report.
  • Choose the exact size and item; none was captured.
Good
  • Undecorated white porcelain, a simple food-contact surface.
  • Oven safe to 550°F.

What we could not verify

  • The lead and cadmium statement is a manufacturer claim; no laboratory report was linked, and "not detectable" means not detected above the test's limit, not "none". Exact size and item number must be chosen. The specific glaze test method was not stated.
  • Sources are manufacturer or retailer pages; no independent laboratory test of this product was reviewed.
  • Prices and availability change often; the observed price is dated and is not a signal of quality.
  • Confirm the exact SKU, size and current construction details before relying on this pick.
Why we reached this verdict

Pillivuyt’s US shop lists the Classic Pleated ramekins as porcelain made in Mehun-sur-Yèvre, France, in 1 to 5 oz sizes, oven safe to 550°F, sold as a set of six. Pillivuyt says its products comply with California Prop 65, that test results show lead and cadmium are “not detectable”, and that trace amounts occur naturally in porcelain clay and pigments. “Not detectable” means not detected above the test’s limit, not zero, and no report was linked, so this stays a manufacturer claim.

Last reviewed .

View evidenceCompare with this productEmail this pageRequest a product

We may earn a commission through affiliate links, at no extra cost to you. Our verdicts remain independent. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Read the full disclosure.

Check PriceAmazon · Paid link

Last reviewed

Key specifications

SpecValue
Exact SKU / modelClassic Pleated, 1 to 5 oz sizes (no item number captured)
Material familyOther
Food-contact materialGlazed white porcelain
Coating or finishGlaze (the manufacturer says it is lead-free); no separate coating
No applied coatingNo
Availability when researchedListed on Pillivuyt's official US shop
Research confidence (materials and disclosure)Moderate
Formulation / construction verification requiredPartly required
Exact SKU and construction confirmedNo
Research sourceAdded in our verification pass
Country of manufactureFrance
Oven or heat limit550°F

What we like and what concerns us

Caution
  • The lead and cadmium statement is a manufacturer claim without a linked report.
  • Choose the exact size and item; none was captured.
Good
  • Undecorated white porcelain, a simple food-contact surface.
  • Oven safe to 550°F.
Why we reached this verdict

Verdict: Conditional.

Pillivuyt’s US shop lists the Classic Pleated ramekins as porcelain made in Mehun-sur-Yèvre, France, in 1 to 5 oz sizes, oven safe to 550°F, sold as a set of six. Pillivuyt says its products comply with California Prop 65, that test results show lead and cadmium are “not detectable”, and that trace amounts occur naturally in porcelain clay and pigments. “Not detectable” means not detected above the test’s limit, not zero, and no report was linked, so this stays a manufacturer claim.

Price tiers are relative within this category and may change over time.

Explore materials & ingredients

Open a card to read the disclosure and its sources. Illustrations are conceptual; the recorded evidence below determines what is known.

Explore the evidence

The food-contact materials

Partly required. Category illustration; confirm the exact SKU and all accessories. These are product review sources, not independent verification of every surface.

Representative pieces, not an exact set inventory. The drawing does not verify exact construction, coatings or dimensions. Read the cards for the recorded materials.
Food-contact material
Recorded construction
Glazed white porcelain
Coating or finish
Recorded coating or finish
Glaze (the manufacturer says it is lead-free); no separate coating

What we could not verify

  • The lead and cadmium statement is a manufacturer claim; no laboratory report was linked, and "not detectable" means not detected above the test's limit, not "none". Exact size and item number must be chosen. The specific glaze test method was not stated.
  • Sources are manufacturer or retailer pages; no independent laboratory test of this product was reviewed.
  • Prices and availability change often; the observed price is dated and is not a signal of quality.
  • Confirm the exact SKU, size and current construction details before relying on this pick.

Missing information stays missing. See the full research record.

What we checked

This product was added in our verification pass on 2026-09-25; it is not in the original research.Verification of exact SKU and construction: Partly required.

No separate re-check is recorded beyond the sources listed below; treat the details as the earlier research stated them.

Explore the research

What the evidence tells us

Added in our verification pass on 2026-09-25. Food-contact material: Glazed white porcelain. Coating: Glaze (the manufacturer says it is lead-free); no separate coating. Evidence confidence: Moderate.

What's still uncertain

  • The lead and cadmium statement is a manufacturer claim; no laboratory report was linked, and "not detectable" means not detected above the test's limit, not "none". Exact size and item number must be chosen. The specific glaze test method was not stated.
  • Sources are manufacturer or retailer pages; no independent laboratory test of this product was reviewed.
  • Prices and availability change often; the observed price is dated and is not a signal of quality.
Technical detail & sources

These notes summarize published evidence. We did not commission these tests.

Sources to read

Read the category’s editorial sources

Final verdict against our bakeware standard

Conditional Published as Conditional under the published standard for bakeware, based on the specific, dated findings above. That standard was written before this or any other product on the page was evaluated, and doesn't change to fit a favorite See the full site-wide standard for how every category is held to the same process.

Check PriceAmazon · Paid link

We may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.